First Vice-Chair: Joseph H. Jefferson, Jr.

Kambrell H. Garvin Rosalyn D. Henderson-Myers Max T. Hyde, Jr. Kimberly O. Johnson John R. McCravy, III Travis A. Moore Melissa Lackey Oremus Marvin R. Pendarvis John Taliaferro (Jay) West, IV

Jennifer L. Dobson Research Director

Cathy A. Greer Administration Coordinator

# Legislative Oversight Committee



South Carolina House of Representatives

Gil Gatch
William M. "Bill" Hixon
Jeffrey E. "Jeff" Johnson
Josiah Magnuson
Timothy A. "Tim" McGinnis
Adam M. Morgan
Russell L. Ott
Michael F. Rivers, Sr.
Chris Wooten

Post Office Box 11867 Columbia, South Carolina 29211 Telephone: (803) 212-6810 • Fax: (803) 212-6811

Room 228 Blatt Building

Charles L. Appleby, IV Legal Counsel

Lewis Carter Research Analyst/Auditor

Riley E. McCullough Research Analyst

# **Legislative Oversight Committee**

Thursday, March 31, 2022 10:30am Blatt Room 410

#### **Archived Video Available**

I. Pursuant to House Legislative Oversight Committee Rule 6.7, South Carolina ETV was allowed access for streaming the meeting. You may access an archived video of this meeting by visiting the South Carolina General Assembly's website (http://www.scstatehouse.gov) and clicking on *Committee Postings and Reports*, then under *House Standing Committees* click on *Legislative Oversight*. Then, click on *Video Archives* for a listing of archived videos for the Committee.

### Attendance

I. The Healthcare and Regulatory Subcommittee meeting was called to order by Chair John Taliaferro (Jay) West on Thursday, March 31, 2022 in Room 3410 of the Blatt Building. All members of the Committee were present for all or a portion of the meeting.

#### **Minutes**

I. House Rule 4.5 requires standing committees to prepare and make available to the public the minutes of committee meetings, but the minutes do not have to be verbatim accounts of meetings.

Rep. Henderson-Myers' motion to approve the October 14 and November 17, 2021 meeting minutes:	Yea	Nay	Note Voting
Rep. Gatch	x		
Rep. Henderson-Myers	х		
Rep. McGinnis	х		
Rep. West	х		

#### **Discussion of State Accident Fund**

- I. Chair West reminded agency personnel participating in the meeting that they remained under oath. The following agency personnel, previously sworn in, were in attendance:
  - Erin Farthing, Acting Director;
  - Matthew Hansford, Deputy Director;
  - Justin Plummer, Director of Information Technology; and
  - Kirk Adair, Senior Premium Auditor
- II. Director Farthing provided an overview of the following:
  - Legal department and process flow charts;
  - Special Investigation Unit and process flow charts;
  - Management Support Unit;
  - Rate Competitiveness;
  - Loss Cost and Loss Cost Multipliers;
  - Market Conditions;
  - Assured Source of Government Coverage; and
  - Marketing and Business Development;

Deputy Director Matthew Hansford provided an overview of the following:

• Policyholder Services and process flow charts

Information Technology Director (Justin Plummer) provided and overview of the following:

- Information Technology Unit; and
- Cyber Security/Risk Assessment and Mitigation

# Adjournment

III. There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned.